20
Aug
07

Lock-Ins and Funerals

Seems like a weird combination, I know. An overnight lock-in with all soon to be seventh graders could cause a funeral in many peoples mind, but I had an absolute blast. We (The children’s ministry and Student Ministry) started a new event this year called “TRANSIT”. This event was for all incoming seventh graders….it was an opportunity for them to hang out with us and simply become acclamated with all that is student ministry. We had a great time, we played some laser tag, ate pizza, ate ice cream, played some crazy dodge ball, and worshiped together a little as well. I’m so excited to see how excited these new students are about being a part of the student ministry. I have been at Sagemont a year now and it is a weird feeling. I feel like I am starting all over in the sense that we are going to be implementing a lot of new things this year. It will be a year of change and transition, but I am excited about the possibility!

After the lock-in ended at 9am I went to a funeral at 10am. A double funeral in fact. One our student’s dad passed away this week from a long battle with cancer. That same day his grandfather also passed away. I did not know either of these men at all, but after the funeral i felt like I had known them for years. Thier lives challenged me that morning to remember what is important. I was reminded that my days are fleeting, so I should use them wisely. I was reminded that family is more important than anything apart from God. I thought it would be hard for me to stay awake after no sleep the night before. It was not, I was so intruiged by how these two men lived and died. I pray that someday I can die well, knowing that I have made the most of my days here. Thankyou Appleton men for ministering to me so much through your life and death.

7 Responses to “Lock-Ins and Funerals”


  1. August 20, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Hey Matt- glad you have jumped on the bandwagon of blogging. Rachel has been at it for awhile 🙂
    Can’t wait to get to hang with all the new 7th graders coming up next week. It will be an exciting time in the youth building.
    Take care- Jackie

  2. 2 gingerswann
    August 20, 2007 at 4:32 am

    i can’t believe you’ve been at sagemont a year.. that’s craziness! i’ve been in dallas for nearly two years now. whoa!

    welcome to wordpress, my blogging friend! i miss you guys!!

  3. 3 lpalos
    August 20, 2007 at 4:37 am

    I cant believe we made it through between those kids and no sleep. Its really awesome though to hear that God opened your eyes in a way that is most of the time least expected. Thanks for coming today, it was really cool of you guys. Like I said earler, I have some of the greatest friends, you guys are such an amazing encouragement in my life. Thanks for always being a totally awesome role model.
    -palos

  4. August 20, 2007 at 7:10 am

    I am glad that you had a good time. I agree with the funeral thing. I mean there has been times where I did not know the person either. But when I left there that day it felt as if I was related to them you know. As well as them being an inspiration with hearing everything they did and stuff. It is really awesome. Family is important. I hope you remeber that. So Matt Kearney on the 8th. Just tell her remember. HA HA. See Ya!!!

    -Josh-

  5. August 21, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    welcome to the blogosphere love.

  6. August 29, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    Yay for supercrazyAWESOME lockins where I stay out way way wayyyyy too late for my own good.

    You are awesome. EndofstorY.

  7. 7 kristinkjs
    September 16, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    Hi there,

    Welcome to WordPress. How’s life treating you?


Leave a Reply

Visitors to this site


