19
Jan
08

Walking where my Rabbi walked…

wailwa8.jpg

Well after 24 hours of travel we arrived in Tel Aviv, Isreal. We got in at 5:30 this morning, rented a car and headed for Jerusalem. We payed extra to have GPS in our phone but it was not working. We got a little lost but finally found our way thanks to our freind here Namaah. We will be here for the next few days meeting with several people including Namaah who is doing student ministry here with college students. I am very tired but will push through!

It is funny to be here and think this is where the movement I talk so much about began. This is where Rabbi Jesus called some ragtag vagabonds to follow him. This is where the holy spirit first inhabited believers. This is where Paul came to preach the gospel despite persecution. This is where it all began! The ironic thing is that we are coming here as missionaries, looking and praying for ways to further plant the gospel among those whom it was revealed to first of all. I feel very grateful to be here!

 On a side note we are staying in a very small apartment that is vacant. The heat is not working and it is really cold, so I am contemplating setting myself on fire.

7 Responses to “Walking where my Rabbi walked…”


  1. January 19, 2008 at 8:14 am

    i love you & am just so thankful that you are getting to experience all these things! i miss you!

  2. January 19, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Reading your experiences has blessed me so much. I have sent your blog address to several others so they too can be blessed. I love you, and praying for you and know that God has you and Jerry and Steven in His Hands, it’s evident from what I have read so far. I will pray that you will stay warm where you are now. I love you.

    IN CHRIST,
    mom

  3. 3 ben
    January 19, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    hey dude don’t set your self on fire your bag will explode and make a mess, and you know you don’t want that. Miss you dude call me when you get back

  4. January 19, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    I am sorry Matt did not set himself on fire! I was cold last
    night and he could have ministered to me!!

  5. 5 jerrysquyres
    January 21, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Matt…thanks for teaching me how to blog! Now I am a real, bonafide blogger even though I am not from the right decade!!! Anyone who is interested can check my “Matt Setliffe inspired” blog at http://www.jerrysquyres.wordpress.com

  6. January 21, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    So cool! I would advise against setting yourself on fire!

  7. January 21, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Jerry’s comment cracked me up 🙂


Leave a Reply

Visitors to this site


