29
Feb
08

Faith of our fathers (listening to those who are a little further down the road)

I was thinking today about how recently it seems God had put some key men in my life who are a little farther down the road of faith, life, and ministry. Most of these that I am thinking about are in thier 50’s or 60’s and seem to be extremely on the cutting edge and out of the box. These men have decided that retirement is not an option for them and so they push on for the Glory of God, with the energy of a twenty year old. I am honored that I have people like this to look up to and do ministry with. Some of us young guys in church and ministry are way to emergent and hip for our own good. If we are not careful we can become arrogant and think we are the first to feel passionatly about those who need Christ, about injustice, about poverty, and about God. There are those who are a little futher down the road than us, and they have paved the road for our passion, ideas, and creativity. We would do good to stop and listen everyonce and a while. It does not mean that our generations will always agree or see eye to eye about how things should be done, but we can learn from one another! I am grateful for guys like Jerry and Kelly who have taken me under thier wing, given advise, and been a freind! Who is it in your life that is a little older that God has used in your life to shape you? It could be a family member, co-worker, pastor, mentor….whoever it is how have they made a lasting mark on you? I pray that someday I can be what these men have been to me….

4 Responses to “Faith of our fathers (listening to those who are a little further down the road)”


  1. February 29, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Jerry, Don, Dale Smith and Steve Fisk those are my top dudes. Hey man I miss you. I can’t believe how old Ava is looking its nuts. Hey I get to write my first paper in Turabian this weekend. Doesn’t it suck! Later dude, I love you man I will call you this weekend1

    -Ben

  2. March 1, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Mine are Patty Odom, Beth Nix, Victor Flores, and Kelly and Beth Green. Love you Matt Setliffe. Happy Birthday Eve Eve Eve. Oh, and ha ha to Ben who has to write a a paper in Turabian. Stinks for you my friend 🙂

  3. 3 Ben
    March 1, 2008 at 9:59 am

    do not laugh at me rachel, I want to suceed at wrtiting the turabian! Hi Rachel!

  4. 4 ftme
    March 5, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Great word brother. I’m blogging anonymously, but several come to mind off the top of my head!


Leave a Reply

Visitors to this site


