06
Apr
08

Drunk on materialism

Anytime I travel outside the country and come back it gets a little harder. It gets harder because I am faced with how drunk I am on materialism and the love of possessions. How I get upset over small things like not getting to eat at the restraunt of my choice or not getting a good parking spot. I hate materialism and being with people that seem to only care about earthly possessions…but what I hate more is that the very thing I hate in others I find in myself.

I am awestruck by the apathy of Americans towards what others are going through in the world. I have had many Christians tell me in the past few months that they do not really have a heart for missions or mission work. Is it possible to love God and his glory and not have a heart for missions?

I think we are all so drunk on materialism that we have become indifferent to others in the world because we are so busy keepin up with the jonses. I’m not saying having stuff is bad. I know alot of people who are monetarily blessed and use that to be a blessing to others. What I am talking about is how Americans seemed to be enamored with having stuff…and Christians many times are not much different. I wonder if the desire for churches to have multi-million dollar buildings is an adoption of materialism in the local church, that is disguised by some Bible verses that are taken way out of context? We are so drunk that we cannot care about others, all we can think about is when we can take our next drink. The following clip from Hotel Rwanda says it all. When faced with the suffering of others around the world…we simply keep eating and say, “that is too bad”.

What do you think…how can we be so indifferent?

 

5 Responses to “Drunk on materialism”


  1. April 7, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Matt – this was great. Thank you.

  2. April 8, 2008 at 8:33 am

    its easy to be indifferent, thats how we do it. the less we move towards people who are suffering, the less we suffer ourselves. its difficult to help someone without seeing and understanding their problems, and seeing and understanding that the world is a wretched place that is broken by sins means a little hurt for us. i think those with compassion will become more compassionate and those who are not compassionate will become even less compassionate.

  3. April 9, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    speechless…God forgive me!

    Then the King will say to those on the right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’ “Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink? Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing? When did we ever see you sick or in prison, and visit you?’ And the King will tell them, ‘I assure you, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, F143 you were doing it to me!’ “Then the King will turn to those on the left and say, ‘Away with you, you cursed ones, into the eternal fire prepared for the Devil and his demons! For I was hungry, and you didn’t feed me. I was thirsty, and you didn’t give me anything to drink. I was a stranger, and you didn’t invite me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me no clothing. I was sick and in prison, and you didn’t visit me.’ “Then they will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and not help you?’ And he will answer, ‘I assure you, when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.’ Matthew 25:34-45

  4. April 10, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    so what changes should we make, baby? love you!!


Leave a Reply

Visitors to this site


