14
May
08

I don’t understand?

I have to be honest…

I have been thinking alot in light of my pastors sudden death. I just don’t really get it, none of this makes sense. I know all of the pat answers because I have given them before. I know that God is sovereign, I have preached that and I am not doubting that. I know that others will likely come to know Christ through this. I know that it will make our church stronger and more unified. I know all of these things are very true.

But I still don’t get it? I don’t get why a man in the prime of his life and ministry would die in a plane crash with his 13 year old son? I don’t get why his wife is now without her husband? I don’t get why his children lost thier dad? None of this makes sense and if I were God (good thing i am not) I am sure I would have done this different. I did not really know Forrest Pollock. I do know that he was a good man. He was a Godly man. He loved his wife and children deeply, as he talked about in his sermon on Sunday. He has a passion to advance the kingdom. He was a smart buisness man. He was really creative and loved drama. He deeply loved the people of Bell Shoals Baptist Church.

I don’t get it? But….

Though He slay me, yet will I trust HIM. (Job 13:15)

We must decide that God is good even in the tragic moments, and not just in the joyous moments. I believe God is most glorified when we trust in him during the tragic, and not just the joyous.

 

1 Response to “I don’t understand?”


  1. May 14, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    The nature of our Fallen world.

    I’m sorry for the loss..


Leave a Reply

Visitors to this site


